Notices

Dating in early recovery

Old 01-20-2013, 08:30 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Dating in early recovery

Hi all,

Just a little background on me: I'm a 29 year old male who lives in Chicago. I used to work as a financial analyst but got fired in July 2012, pretty much due to my alcoholism. My sobriety date is 8/23/12.

I'm curious what advice the forum could give on early recovery. I know you're not supposed to date your first year, but come on, I'm a 29 year old male.

A few questions:
- What are the reasons you aren't supposed to date your first year? Do you subscribe to this?

- When on a date, what do you say if your date asks you why you aren't drinking? How do you handle this awkward moment?

- Am I better off dating someone in the rooms?

- I feel like I've totally lost my ability to flirt/chat up what without alcohol. How to overcome this? I obviously drank during my alcoholism as a social lubricant.

Thanks all, really appreciate it.

Eric
Old 01-20-2013, 08:44 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
A work in progress

Hi, Eric,

We just discussed this recently--here is the thread: http://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/...ting-rule.html

As we noted, this isn't a hard and fast rule, but it IS what most of us think is good advice.

WHEN you do date, the question of why you aren't drinking can be simply answered: You don't drink. If asked why, all you need to say early on is that you decided it isn't good for you. But if the relationship advances beyond a few dates it would be a bad idea not to share the fact that you are in recovery. It may scare some people off, but not all.

You WILL have a social life (and a sex life) again. You can safely take a break from it for a while. Early recovery puts a lot of demands on a person emotionally, physically, and socially. It doesn't help to complicate things by getting involved with dating, which has its own emotional complications. You will be a much better dating partner after several months of recovery.