Notices

Hi, don't know what to say...

Old 11-23-2012, 07:56 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Jon

Hi, don't know what to say...

I'm new to this, but and I can say I stumbled upon this site by pure luck because I really needed to hear that I'm not so alone in most of the things I have done and have been feeling. I hope that I can help others like myself in time.

Today is Day 1 I guess for me. Hangover not so bad, but as usual extremely depressed and thinking about drinking. So I'm looking for all the helpful distractions I can find.
Old 11-23-2012, 08:10 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome! SoberRecovery is full of really supportive people who have a lot of wisdom to share!

Congrats on deciding to be sober and getting to day one. Sometimes the hardest thing to do is to stop saying "tomorrow i'll stop" and then all the tomorrows turn into years later. You have made the cruicial first step

What recovery plan do you have? Do you have a support group or sober friends or family you can talk to? Have you tried going to AA or the numerous other recovery methods that are out there today? Staying sober takes a lot of work and resources. You don't need to to try to tackle it alone.

Lastly, do you have a doctor you trust and can go to? Stopping drinking suddenly can have medical complications. Also, it is always good to have a doctor you can go to with questions about being this whole process.
Old 11-23-2012, 08:12 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Hello, and welcome.
We've all had day ones. I've had hundreds of them. Don't be too hard on yourself, we all have to start somewhere.

As for drinking today, think it through to the end. It'll only bring more despair and depression.

You've found a great place. Please feel free to post as often as you like, and best to you.
Old 11-23-2012, 08:40 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Jon