Notices

Lunch w/other alkies

Old 07-19-2012, 01:00 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Sober since Jan 1, 2012

Lunch w/other alkies

I thought about putting this in the AA section but decided against it. It's really not AA based but more directed towards us newbies.

I was invited to a lunch with other fellow female AA'ers. It went well, I think.

On one hand, I feel much more experienced with sobriety than I did in my first month. On the other, around these women, I feel like a complete newbie. They mostly have 20+ years on me.

We also share the same professional field (legal). So we chatted about work, cases, their kids, our pets, husbands, etc.

But I get nervous. I talk wayyyyy too much. And I can't shut myself up!! I tried to listen, and participate in the conversation. But it was awkward for me. I'm not sure why.

One thing that did cross my mind is that I'm only 6 months sober. I wonder if they are wondering whether I'll make it, or whether I'll go out. I wonder if they are hesitant talking to me, because I just might go out and not be around any more.

Part of my insecurity around them too is that they are mostly lawyers. I'm not, I'm a paralegal. They think that my annual billable requirement is low - meanwhile I HATE it and think it's going to drag me right out of this job.

And now I have a headache. : (

I don't want to be here at work and haven't wanted to be here for at least a couple of weeks. I know it's tough out there, the economy, etc. I could have it much worse, be one of the jobless, etc. --- but none of that takes away from the fact that for today, I'm at work and not wanting to be here. At all.
Old 07-19-2012, 01:15 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

That's rough, lost. I've spent months feeling like that. I hope it gets better. Maybe it's time to start looking for something else?
Old 07-19-2012, 01:18 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Self recovered Self discovered