Notices

5/26/2012

Old 05-26-2012, 11:15 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

5/26/2012

hello. i have visited this site and read forums a few times in the past, but never felt the need to join. i usually feel better after reading what others are going through- just knowing that i am not alone makes my own experiences seem less bad.

i have been drinking for a good 10 years now. part of that was college so it was "normal," but those years are far behind me and i am ready to start acting my age, by being more mature and responsible. i am very petite and despite my irish heritage :P, i can never hold my booze well. it seems like i am always the drunkest one at a party, the one making a fool of herself over and over.

anyway last night was no exception, and i think it may have ruined my chances with a guy i am interested in i want to quit all together, but i am scared about what that means for my social life (all of my friends drink on a regular basis). i wish i could control my intake, say i will just have a couple and actually mean it, but i can't so i guess quitting is my only option.

thanks for the support.
Old 05-26-2012, 11:21 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi and Welcome,

Yeah, alcoholics can't control their drinking and stopping is the way to go.

And, sadly, that often means leaving behind friends who drink and drinking activities. I hope that you are ready to make the changes in your life to begin recovery. You'll find lots of support here.
Old 05-26-2012, 11:22 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by irishgirl05 View Post
but i am scared about what that means for my social life