Notices

Does anybody else have memory problems due to drug use?

Old 05-15-2012, 12:14 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Does anybody else have memory problems due to drug use?

Well I say drug use, but alcohol and eating disorders can pickle your brains surely as any psychoactive. I don't drink but I have been eating disordered for 19 years, and beset by drug use for 4 years and I...don't remember things.

Even after waiting out half lives, withdrawal symptoms, lifestyle adjustments, it's as though the fog just won't clear. Memory is a compost, but mine appears to be the compost of composts: for I can't intuitively distinguish between dream, fear, and what actually happened. If I don't write things down, I will never know the difference.

And I haven't written many things down. There are holes in my life.

It's really, really hard to explain this to people, especially if they ask about some element of youth or childhood that is supposed to be formative. It feels as though I am lying, appropriating somebody else's life, or a composite of others' lives. It means I find the notion of sincerity really hard to grasp.

Lucky I'm not presently looking for a job, or else I'd have a very hard time with my CV

*sigh*

It's Wonderland, it's Edgar Allen Poe's dream within a dream, it's Chuang Tzu dreaming he was a butterfly and then unsure on waking if he WAS Chuang Tzu waking, or if he was the butterfly now dreaming he was Chuang Tzu. It's the Matrix, it's Gregor Samsa waking and finding himself inexplicably transformed into a giant bug.

Am I just super weird, or does anyone else have this problem? And how do you deal with it?
Old 05-15-2012, 12:20 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome to SR rhizome...I forgot what I was going to say....Yeah...My memory was shot for the first month....Like anything else with sobriety...It takes time. Glad to have you here.
Old 05-15-2012, 12:27 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
A simple guy making his way