Notices

just another relapse withdrawal question

Old 05-12-2012, 05:12 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

just another relapse withdrawal question

Hi all

Newbie here, English is not my native language either so please bear with me:

After binge drinking for the past 2.5 years(6-7 tall cans/day), I was sober for the last 14 days. My withdrawal symptoms peaked at 48 hrs and I went to the E.R. with a high blood pressure/rapid heart rate/severe anxiety/insomnia/sweats and the great feeling of a nauseous stomach. Spent 12 hrs at E.R. just to see the doc and given nothing to alleviate my symptoms in the meantime. Doc send me home with 8x10mg valium pills, i used a total of 20mg in the following 48 hrs with reducing dosages to fight with insomnia. Cut to chase; I was a totally new person just after 5 days of my last drink, I slept like babies, laughed, cried, conversed with people and enjoyed a fresh breath..

Well, I got cocky, the old me came back and drank 5x500 ml 5% beer last night (why did I do that?) and woke up exactly 5 hrs after my last drink with the exact withdrawal symptoms I had two weeks ago.

I guess I don't need mention the absolutely fantastic feeling of your usual and customary alcolic's relapse remorse: shame/self betreyal/add bad word here. I guess these are not helping with my relapse withdrawal symptoms either.

I guess I am finally convinced myself that I can never drink alcohol again like a normal person do. Live and learn.

Fast forward to the present minute and here is my question, and I appreciate any input on the matter.

Given the parameters above, how worried should I be about the relapse withdrawal? Is it going to be the same intensity/duration as with the last one? Even worse God forbid?

Just the thought of going through the whole thing again is making me sick.