Notices

Another newbie!!!!

Old 05-11-2012, 04:32 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Wink Another newbie!!!!

Hello....

I am a newbie both to sobriety and to this forum, though I have been a lurker for awhile.

I will be starting my first treatment for alcohol on Monday, in an out-patient basis as I have a stable place to live (live alone) and I have a great job I don't want to lose.

I've been sober for 3 days, which doesn't seem like much when typing it but it's been really difficult. Went to my first AA meeting and felt immediately better.......so nice to be around other people that are going through the same thing you are.........

I haven't hit a bottom yet and I'm hoping by doing this intervention on myself that I won't.....yes, I had a DWI over two years ago, which only made my drinking worse as I went from drinking out with friends to drinking by myself....lol

I'm here now writing and reading a lot as I keep having thoughts in my head about having one last night of drinking........and I know it's a horrible decision. Has anyone had "one last night" that actually was their last night? The smart/sober side of me is saying that if I give in to this "one night", I'll do it again. Starting Monday I am truly focused on my sobriety.......I know I should be now as well.

This is so hard! Last few days I had good excuses not to drink......I had to work, and I other responsibilities.........now it's a Friday night, I have NOTHING to do tomorrow, no responsibilities....................only AA meeting I could have gone to is almost over.........

This night could really go two ways..............ugh. I swear Bacardi is just calling my name. I wish 10pm would hurry up and get here as I don't have any alcohol and the liquor stores close at 10............

Advice?

Thanks

Donnylutz...............
Old 05-11-2012, 04:35 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

HI and welcome Donnylutz

Congratulations on your 3 days