Notices

Day 6 and facing my first real challenge.

Old 01-13-2012, 09:43 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Day 6 and facing my first real challenge.

Few may know that I am a musician. I play fiddle in three different groups and one is a Celtic rock band. You can imagine the pressure in the past to stay sober in such an environment. I am determined to take this step in my passion for music and move forward sober. You might think that the pressure comes from the people I work with. The people I play with. Which is only half true. Out of three groups and 7 people I work with on a daily basis only one other has a similar problem and we have decided to work through it together. The truth is, it is no one else's fault but my own. So tonight will be the first night since I jumped on the wagon last Sunday that I will be working. I have prepared myself in many ways by creating a set list that is challenging which I look forward to trucking through sober, to buying a 6 pack of glass bottle root beer to put into a cozy to deter others from buying me drinks, and to satisfy the oral fixation. I know these are just tricks but more importantly I am set on the idea that I want this more I did ever before. The anxiety won't ever go away but the reward is much greater. I know I can live without alcohol but I know more I can't live without music. Face it I had music long before alcohol.
Old 01-13-2012, 11:57 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome Cat. This is a great place for support!

There are many programs out there that will greatly enhance your sobriety and improve your chances of staying sober. You can learn about them on this site.

Best wishes.

God bless.
Old 01-13-2012, 02:25 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Hi Cat,