Notices

Day 8: Severe Anxiety/Panic Problems

Old 01-08-2012, 04:30 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Day 8: Severe Anxiety/Panic Problems

I just turned 39 and I am on day 8 of being sober as a part of a New Years resolution. My regular drinking on was on average 6-8 beers 0-4 times per week since I graduated from college in 1997. Some weeks I would not drink at all, esp in the last 4 years. If I went to a wedding or other gathering, it would be more like 10-12 beers. In the last 6 years I've had several 2-3 month periods of sobriety from drinking and one 12 month period of sobriety (2009 - It was great!). During my drinking days, I mainly drank on weekends, and sometimes during the week with the guys after a hockey game or if we went out to dinner. There was no such thing as having 1 or 2 for me. It was always 6 or 8 or 10. 1 or 2 beers always produced this "itch" in me that could only be scratched by more beer.