Notices

Day 3 and its getting tougher

Old 10-06-2011, 09:51 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Day 3 and its getting tougher

Hi,

I found this site a couple of days ago and thought i'd sign up. Never felt like going to a face to face meeting and this seems like a good way to get support and offer it to others.

I have been drinking heavily for the last 7 years, I'm in my late 20's now. I used to be able to get drunk on 6 bottles of stella, now it takes 10x500ml 5% cans to get me drunk. Not only was it costing me a lot of money but over the last year I have begun to notice mental and physical issues. My doctor has prescribed me with Paroxetine to deal with anxiety, this has helped but my anxiety is still there. My doctor knows I drink more than I should but I never admitted the extent of my drinking, he'd simply tell me I should cut down. I have put on huge amounts of weight due to the amount of lager drunk and the bad eating habits that are associated with drinking. I was barely functional in the mornings with brain fog and intense sweating, although I never really suffered hang overs in the traditional sense. After drinking, my liver felt sore. I would have spells of constantly itching.

3 days ago I decided enough was enough and stopped drinking. This is day 3 and the temptation to drink is getting worse. In the back of my head I'm thinking, maybe I'll have a few tonight and none tomorrow, I know in reality that won't happen and I'll continue it tomorrow. I am not sure if these feelings are cravings or not, I don't think I have any physical symptoms of needing alcohol, merely psychological needs for alcohol. I'm trying to keep myself busy and I'm doing lots of jobs around the house to keep me busy.