Notices

I'm a Newbie

Old 09-22-2011, 01:36 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Cool I'm a Newbie

Almost 30 days sober and I guess I'm still feeling the withdrawl of the alcohol and drugs... Always been a mixer.. This is my 4th time in AA and view it completely different this time. I always believed in the past that it was a willpower thing, but I know today that it is not. I have drank for 20 years and it was just that oneday that I sat on the couch and really contemplated suicide. It scared the hell out of me. I was jobless, the state took both of my kids a year ago and I was just unhappy with myself. I didnt want to kill myself but at the same time didn't want to myself. I had pushed myself in a corner so to speak, so I got off the couch and went into a meeting and haven't looked back. Luckily I know alot of ppl in the rooms because of my battle in the past with this disease so I got a sponsor working the steps. Sure I really have more bad days than good days right now as far as the foggy head and just not knowing where to place the emotions I'm feeling, but I am sober and gettin to know myself and that in itself is a miracle, trully
Old 09-22-2011, 01:44 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome from another 'Bama resident. Roll Tide! (or War Eagle?).

I know where you are coming from, the "jumping off point" that the BB talks about. I've been in and out of AA a lot too. I make it over that direction every now and then on business. Never been to an AA meeting there though.

Keep posting, there is almost always someone around - we are on 6 continents.
Old 09-22-2011, 01:55 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

Welcome, and I'm glad you're doing well!
Old 09-22-2011, 01:56 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

I am originally from Mobile, I miss it alot sometimes. The meetings are awesome here, they have a great fellowship... Thanks
Old 09-22-2011, 01:58 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

@ Anna thanks and dgillz ROLL TIDE!
Old 09-22-2011, 02:06 PM
  # 6 (permalink)