Notices

Decision Time. Your opinion?

Old 08-14-2011, 09:52 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Decision Time. Your opinion?

So I'm a teacher and am very, very type A. No really. More type A than your worst nightmare. Heart palpitations, panic attacks, work like a dog.

So School starts in mid September. I lost a good chunk of the summer to a family death and a heroic relapse. Now I have about a week to myself before the next family onslaught and I have to decide how to spend it.

I could:

Stay home and ease through time by sewing, writing, and going to AA meetings.

Go to a lovely little no TV no television hotel I love at the coast (80 miles from home) where I would begin a writing project, read, and knit--and find AA meetings.

Consider a one-week rehab program and call it vacation. Is there such a thing as one week in patient?

My therapist thinks I can do it on my own with AA, but if I don't she wants in patient. I guaranty you under no circumstances can I spend a week in rehab once school starts.

I would love to choose the hotel route, but I'm afraid I would get lonely and get into trouble. I'm not as zen as I wish I was.

If I stay home I can get things done and will continue AA (promise) but I'm afraid I won't really feel like I did anything this summer, then Fall will hit me like a ton of bricks.

Ideas?

And should I add that my best friend, who is that outside person I've told of my alcoholism, and with whom I normally work closely, is out of the country until January? So it will be a hard Fall.

Thanks for your time. Ideas?
Old 08-14-2011, 10:03 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hi Missy!

Have you made any friends at AA yet? Getting more involved and meeting people there has helped me. Socializing with non-drinkers is fun. I would rather do that than go off alone somewhere being newly sober.
Old 08-14-2011, 10:07 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Gee, it seems that this life changing journey you are beginning is achieving a great deal.

Relax. Enjoy your week.