Notices

State of my life, and how to change the routine

Old 03-01-2011, 08:00 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

State of my life, and how to change the routine

Hi all,

I've posted a bit here a while ago, now I'm back, although I can't say for sure exactly why. I am a senior college student and almost daily drinker, usually consuming about 7 beers / night, sometimes fewer if I have something really important the next day. I have been a 'regular' drinker since I was about 20.

I still function though. My grades have not declined at all since I started, I haven't had any real legal or health problems. So it's hard for me to really get motivated to stop, considering it's something I still enjoy. The fact that I am also very 'in' to beer, with a special fondness for complex microbrews, doesn't help. I never have the desire to drink anything other than beer, and I think my love for the different styles makes it that much harder to abstain altogether--the taste of it, and the fun of creating my own recipes, is this whole other pleasure above and beyond the buzz I feel.

Anyway I'd imagine that is a topic that gets covered a bit here, though probably more often with wine than with craft beers. My real question is about finding a way to break the routine. I never have the desire to drink during the day. But at night, when it gets right up to about 9-10 pm, the thought enters my head that I worked hard during the day, and still have a couple hours before sleep, and I just think 'why not'. I have also noticed that when I don't drink for a day or two, that 'why not' feeling is coupled with a physical anxiety, like an adrenaline feeling in my chest, and I find myself really needing the beer to feel 'normal'. I know that's a big red flag.