Notices

Back Again

Old 02-13-2011, 11:37 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Back Again

I see a lot of posts on here about people cutting down. I am one that cannot undesrtand that philosophy. Alcohol is like any other addiction, cutting down is not the cure. I have went a month without alcohol and went out this week when I was out of town and drank two nights in a row. I not only drank but got drunk. I have been sick ever since. I am depressed about it, feel horrible physically and mentally. I have found that toying with alcohol in any form is not only poisonous to my body, but causes bad decisions and bad reputation to be formed. I cannot cone up with anyone who is successful in business or life that is an addict. I thought I was not an addict because I only would get drunk when I travelled, which was not very often. It exacerbates my panic attacks after it wears off, and my anxiety. I am a professional at lying to myself, and trying to please others. From this point forward I am committing to not drinking any alcohol, I hate myself when I drink, and I beleive I am a better person when I do not. I am a Christian and believe that God can heal me. Hopefully I will remember how bad I feel when I drink from now on. A four day hangover is sure not worth the little bit of fun that I experience with the alcohol buzz.

Hello everyone I am an alcoholic and now a recovering alcoholic.

I want to be successful and I have been here many times, every time the hangovers are worse, and I believe it wil kill me if I do not stop. God help me, please pray for me as I take this one day, one month and one year at a time.

God Bless all of you that have conquered this disease.
Old 02-13-2011, 11:38 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover

Welcome back!
Old 02-13-2011, 11:42 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

welcome back hockeyplayer
I think you've made a great choice.

D
Old 02-13-2011, 11:49 AM
  # 4 (permalink)