Notices

my obsessing brain

Old 01-02-2011, 07:27 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

my obsessing brain

Ok...the good news is that I just posted to the gratitude forum for the second night in a row, and I think it is quite simply a great way to end the day...in a state of positive reflection. But I must admit, I REALLY wanted a glass of wine for a bit tonight. I could tell that my brain was obsessing and looping, because it kept playing that familiar tune that goes something like this.."can you really envision a life in which you never, ever, ever have a drink again? What about a glass of wine with friends? You will miss that so much...you will be the only one not enjoying that wonderful taste and sense of relaxation. Everyone drinks...you'll be such a weirdo. Should you really have to deprive yourself altogether?". Now I know this is all B.S. But I could really use some advice/encouragement. I'm still really new to this...only days in. Thanks!
Old 01-02-2011, 07:42 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Just keep reading until the feeling passes. NOT everyone drinks.

Don't you hate that stupid voice?
Old 01-02-2011, 07:44 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I totally understand what you are saying. I say this to myself all the time. I try to see myself one year from now. I don't want that glass in my hand.

I am hoping it's the same as what happen when I quit smoking. I used to think that I couldn't live without smoking. Well...I quit 28 years ago and wouldn't think of putting a cigarette in my mouth. I am hoping that I will feel the way way about wine.

Don't give up!
Old 01-02-2011, 07:45 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
6/20/08

REALLY wanting a glass of wine.....and coming on SR and posting about it....I'd say that's a show of strength! You are making good choices! Glad you are here.

Butterfly: I like that analogy about a cigarette...never thought of it that way before. Thanks!
Old 01-02-2011, 07:58 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Groovy Dancer