Notices

I keep trying

Old 07-10-2010, 08:17 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Stumbling Drunk

I keep trying

I've never posted here before.

I've been drinking more than a twelve pack every day for the past 15 years. I've always been functional. But in the past few months I've really been wanting to get out of it. Not so easy. For the past three weeks I've been staying sober on the weekdays/nights, and letting myself go on the weekends. I thought I could reward myself for a good week by throwing 'em back on the weekends. It's not working how I planned, however. My body/brain just starts making up for lost drinking time and now after a week sober I can drink almost a case of beer per day on the weekends. This past holiday (the 4th) I spent three days in a cycle of drink heavy for six hours, sleep six hours. Wake up and do it again. I have little memory of the 4th holiday weekend.

This missing memory thing is mostly a recent development, and it's one of the things that makes me want to stop this. There's a thing that happens to me, I don't know how to describe it... when I am driving, it's like some other person takes control of my body and drives to the store to get beer! No matter how much I say to myself during the day that I will not buy beer on the way home... that person just takes over and I buy it and drink it all.

So now it's five days sober for me (again) and it's Saturday (again). I'm going to try really hard to not buy beer on the way home from work. Try to keep that person from taking over my body. If I can do that, I think I might be able to make it another day without drinking.

If I can make it through this weekend, I might have a shot at doing two weeks sober. That would really be a big thing for me.

I have to drink lots of iced tea to keep from drinking beer. I don't know why. But drinking one iced tea after the other and running on my treadmill a lot help me to not drink.