Notices

First week, emotions, help?

Old 08-03-2009, 02:18 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Owner of a strange glitch.

First week, emotions, help?

Alright, I'm new at this posting stuff (ever), so I apologize for anything wrong. I read the stickys, so any mistake is on me.

Anyways, I'm a 29-year-old female. I stopped drinking (again) last Thursday, so the 30th, after slowing down for a few days, per doctor. Previously I'd drink between a fifth or two, mostly depending on proof, daily for about the last four years (minus 2 months last year, yay!), and a little bit less than that before.

Last year, I got that "wake up call," which in my case meant somebody pointed out that I drink too much. It had honestly never occurred to me. Coming up, everybody around me drank heavily, and since moving to this state, there has basically been nobody around me, so I had nobody to compare myself to.

I tried to stop, and managed somehow to pull it off for two months, when the death of my pet just shot me over the edge, and within twenty four hours I had a fifth and a half of overproof in my blood. I got one more detox, courtesy the local sheriff, got drunk before I got sober and didn't even look back for months.

A little knowledge is a dangerous thing, and now I want to be sober. Never thought twice about liquor all those years, and now the bottle looks like my own killer--which it may well be. I have tried to quit repeatedly, learning the hard way about dt's and the seizures, which had me stumbling to the neighbor's because I couldn't push the buttons on my phone to call the paramedics. Yup, I know I'm lucky to be alive. No, I'm just not smart enough to stay away from the bottle. It's got me, and I don't know why.

Either way, I'm trying hard, and I said all that I guess just to say it, 'cause I haven't really said it to anyone before.