Notices

Hello.

Old 06-15-2009, 10:26 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hello.

First, I've got to say that reading posts here has been very inspiring for me. But I also need to say that registering was a pain as I am colour blind and reading the verification code gave me quite a challenge.

So, I'll introduce myself. My name is Neil. I've been battling with alcohol for about four years now. Prior to that, I was diagnosed with an anxiety disorder and had to quit my job. After that, My Fiancée left me and I lost my home. I agreed to go on medication for depression and anxiety, but had a severe reaction to the combination of meds. I ended up having to move in with family on the opposite side of the country while I recovered.

So I guess the best way to describe myself is to say that one day I woke up far from home. Single, homeless, broke and very sick.

Recovering from the meds was more difficult than I had expected. I had a roof over my head, but nothing more than a hockey bags worth of possessions and looking very different from the locals, I ended up withdrawing.

I'm not sure when I started drinking excessively. But I do remember that day in 2006 when I stopped caring. The pain I'd been trying so hard to avoid washed over me. From that day on, alcohol was no longer a coping mechanism, it was an escape.

I come to you today as a man who is terrified. I've read many posts from people in my situation and that has given me enough strength to write this. My anxiety makes group meetings and face to face contact very difficult. I'm almost a shut in.

I guess I'm looking for a place to talk. I'm happy being alone with my dogs and cats, but I am no longer sure if the isolation is good for me. I thought it would help but I seem to be in the same place.

Anyway, I'm not too good with words.

Thanks for listening.
Old 06-15-2009, 10:53 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome! You're in the right place