Notices

Hiya

Old 05-10-2009, 01:42 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hiya

Hi everyone! I'm 32, and I have a 15 month old little boy. I have been drinking like it's my job for a few years now (except for my pregnancy). I even time the drinking just right so I can still breastfeed.

Like many of you, I seem to have no off switch. I drink until it's gone. At the peak of my drinking, I was drinking a magnum of red wine every other day. I would drink the whole thing, then feel guilty the next day and then do it all over again the following day. Then say "whyyyyy?"

Now I seem to have gained some control, or maybe it's just sheer exhaustion. I only drink about once a week now. I am still suffering from post partum depression and my doc put me on topamax a couple of weeks ago. The topamax also helps with the cravings, so that's good.

I've not really hit a bottom as they say? I've not yet quit drinking altogether. But I don't like myself when I drink. I hate myself the next day, even if I don't do anything I regret. I know it's foolish, but I wish I could just drink socially and appropriately. (Actually, I do ) It's when I get home that I continue drinking and become an idiot.

I come from a long line of alcoholics and drug addicts. I don't know why I'm so disillusioned that I am now struggling too.

Anyhoo, that's the short version. I'm glad to be here. Nice to meet y'all.
Old 05-10-2009, 02:11 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Forward we go...side by side-Rest In Peace

Welcome.....

Here is a link to excerpts from the book that explained
to me why I kept drinking....despite my efforts to quit

I detested the woman I had become thru drinking.

http://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/...influence.html

I hope you too will find it helpful.

Blessings to you and your family
Old 05-10-2009, 02:12 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi and Welcome,