Notices

Hello

Old 01-23-2009, 03:01 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hello

Hello, this is my first time to a forum like this so im not really sure how to start or what to do...... Its my twin sister who is the addict, has been drinking now for over 20 yrs. I need some-one to talk to. Please help. our family love her dearly, shes intelligent, witty, beautiful and caring.....then shes nasty, withdrawn and hates all of us. for the first time lastnight she was abusive to mum whos 75. Im getting really scared now. Is it ultimatum time? She wont accept any help or talk about it.
Old 01-23-2009, 03:26 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Maybe i am in the wrong place
Old 01-23-2009, 03:53 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Experience strength and hope

You're in the general right place it seems. When I was around 14 years old, I was then living with my biological family. One night I came home late. In the morning, my bio mother mentioned I had come into the house naked. They she said were watching a TV program they were interested in. She did say, "Everything okay?" While the earth imploded around me, I said, "Yes." Naked, really? I'll never know.

It's hard to know what has been said to your sister. It is possible you have tried every angle known to humankind. I just want to say I wish, just once, someone in my family of origin had said, "We think you have a drinking problem. We care about you." They went straight to the blaming indirect nastiness as if something had ever been rationally discussed between us. The blame and hate remains in that family system. We are mutually estranged. This truly is a family condition. Best to you and yours. Thank you for letting me share a little bit of my story-- that I truly wish was much shorter.
Old 01-23-2009, 04:12 AM
  # 4 (permalink)