Notices

Newly discovered problem

Old 12-26-2008, 05:50 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy Newly discovered problem

I'm new to this whole situation, I chose to take the steps to get involved in some type of program or support because I think I may have a problem controlling my drinking behaviors. I have never allowed drinking to harm myself or others, I have never looked at myself and thought I had a problem. Recently however by boyfriend of 3 years told me I drink too much and basically because of that he hates me to make it simple... I wish he understood that him being like that only makes me want to drink more? I drink on occasions, and maybe twice a week, I feel like I drink because I have trouble sleeping and I drink when I feel bad about myself. I took a quiz and it said I have a problem in the making. Does anyone have any suggestions on what I should do now, I feel like seeking help is silly if I don't really believe I have a problem? People shouldn't change just because others want them too, besides if I do have a problem, how do I ask for his support instead of his anger?

P.S. Just looking for answers
Old 12-26-2008, 05:56 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi and Welcome,

If you wonder if you have a problem, try stopping drinking for a fixed period, say for a month and see what happens. You'll probably get your answer.

In my opinion, if your boyfriend thinks you have a problem, and you don't think you have a problem, it's going to be very hard to have a meeting of the minds. It's very hard for people who are not alcoholics, to understand those who are. That's one of the reasons that many of us come here to SR, because we understand each other.
Old 12-26-2008, 06:30 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

welcome ina

anna said it well...

and hey, why not stop a problem before it might turn into a nightmare?
Old 12-26-2008, 06:36 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Looking For Myself...Sober

What they said...Welcome.
Old 12-27-2008, 03:34 AM
  # 5 (permalink)