Notices

Another newbie here

Old 04-01-2008, 06:47 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Just for today

Another newbie here

Just wanted to say hi all. This is my day 1.

In the past I've pretended to myself that I wanted to stop drinking, went to a couple of meetings and then decided I didn't really have a problem....I just liked getting drunk. But I don't like it.

I'm 43 years old and have been binge drinking since I was about 14. Spent so much of my time feeling ashamed of my behaviour, apologising to everyone and generally despising myself. Last year I walked out on a relationship where I had been verbally/emotionally abused for 4 years.....apparently I deserved the abuse because of my drinking.

Earlier this year met a really nice, friendly man who has been so supportive of me with this problem. Last night this 'really nice man' hit me in the face and dragged me round the room by my hair. The relationship is over - he knows I won't go anywhere near him again. I know I'm worth more than this, but not until I stop drinking......no decent person wants to be seen with someone who passes out at the bar, or who has to get carried home from the pub on a regular basis.

I have no respect for myself, so no-one else can.

Sorry enough of this, just thought I'd tell you a little bit of my story.

Anyway it's very good to be here and thanks for listening.

xxxx
Old 04-01-2008, 06:53 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
let it grow!

nice to meet you, honeybunny. please keep reaching out. recovery is possible. no one deserves abuse.

blessings, k

Last edited by parentrecovers; 04-01-2008 at 07:09 AM.
Old 04-01-2008, 06:56 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Force Is Strong In This One

Hey honeybunny.
hope you find this place supportive as i always have, feel free to message me if you need to chat
Old 04-01-2008, 07:08 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

welcome to you,
im here on day four and finding this place invaluable.
I can relate to so much of what youre saying about relationships and self worth.