Notices

Putting it out there

Old 03-17-2008, 08:39 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Putting it out there

I’ve been reading on here for about a week but didn’t post or introduce myself because I've been struggling a bit with the whole "hitting bottom" concept and I feel a bit like I don't belong because I haven't started "recovery" yet.

I really didn’t know what to post so I though I’d just put my story out there and see what responses I get.

I’m 36 years old and have been married for 12 years. I have a wonderful 4 year old daughter.

I've long suffered with depression and anxiety. I struggle the most with a social phobia. I work outside the home full time and do ok but I have a really hard time in any social situations and tend to avoid them. I've been in and out of therapy for over 13 years but never really found a therapist that I liked or that I truly felt was helping. So I started self medicating.

I've been using marijuana on and off for 8-10 years and I've been a daily smoker for probably the past 5 years. I use it to self medicate for depression but mostly for anxiety. I also take Paxil daily for both.

After my miscarriage (6 months ago) I started abusing alcohol. I've long been a drinker but it progressed from occasionally on weekends to a couple of times a week and since the miscarriage, it's been a daily thing. I am never falling down drunk or having blackouts or anything like that but after work, I've come to depend on having a drink. As soon as I get home, I have a drink. Then I have 2-3 more. My DH knows that I have been drinking a lot but I've been hiding it from him as well.