Notices

Newbie Here - and I'm scared! Please Help!

Old 08-27-2007, 06:15 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Newbie Here - and I'm scared! Please Help!

First, I have to say I have spent the last hour reading through threads on these boards and I am so grateful to have found them...I feel better already just for reading.

I am starting Day 14 without alcohol. I drank everyday, during the evening, mostly to self-medicate anxiety. I do not have any craving for alcohol at all.

I have not had really bad physical withdrawals...I am sleeping about 6 hours a night, but sleeping lightly and restlessly. I have been having some sugar cravings and blood sugar swings, but they seem to be lessening. Is it ok to eat something sweet when I feel like my blood sugar is nose diving, or is that just going to prolong the cravings?

What I am is scared. These past two weeks of having my eyes and emotions wide open have been like a whirlwind of fear, anxiety, guilt, and pain. I have to face that I may have injured my body (still too scared to make a doctor's appointment - working up to that) and I have to deal with the anxiety I have without hiding behind drinking.

I have an appointment to talk to my pastor on Wednesday when my kids go back to school. I am hoping he can help counsel me on the anxiety (I would prefer if possible to avoid any anti- anxiety meds. - I have an overwhelming urge to be "completely clean").

I just am overwhelmed by emotion of looking back at wasted time and also looking forward to a future without alcohol.

What I really need is reassurance that I can beat these feelings and that the sleeplessness and anxiety and blood sugar stuff with stablize if I keep going. I am eating pretty well and excercising as much as possible (recovering from a broken foot - seven weeks out from the injury).

Thanks for listening - sorry this is so long. I have held these feelings in for years and it feels great to let them out. Jomey
Old 08-27-2007, 06:29 AM
  # 2 (permalink)