Notices

Giving Up

Old 12-12-2019, 08:57 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Giving Up

I had to go to the emergency room for a concussion, and it turned into a huge mess because the nurse and doctor saw I had been cutting. I was afraid of being sent to an inpatient facility, and my husband was losing his mind scared at going through what we went through last time I was inpatient. I was able to get discharged, but have to do an outpatient thing. So no work, FMLA, total disruption of our lives, but at least I'm not abandoning my husband and kids.

Anyway, today was my first day. I saw the NP who comes once a week to do meds. He asked how long I'd been cutting. I said off and on for 20 years. His reaction was so demoralizing. He just said wow, but the look on his face was . . . I don't even know.

First of all, I am appalled I can even say I've been doing anything for 20 years, lol. So saying that out loud made me feel really old! But mostly I just feel defeated and pathetic. My husband is upset I've been hiding this from him, and that I would threaten our way of life with behaviors that could get me committed. When I had to tell him, his immediate reaction was a whole lot of cussing and then the biting comment of, "Why don't you think of your kids? You can't do this anymore; you have a family."

As if I didn't know that! I hate everything about myself, but mostly that I can't just be a normal, good mom to them. I hate that I am suicidal, because that would be selfish and hurt them. I cut myself because it DOESN'T effect them. I am sober. I am here doing my best. And I'm just trying to make it through from one day to the next. I'm trying my best to not let my insanity impact them, knowing full well that I will fail.