I need some guidance

Old 04-16-2012, 09:33 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I need some guidance

I'm a mother of a 5 year drug addict. I'm new to the family programs though and trying to work them, but I'm a terrible co-dependent.

I need some advice. My son was 100 days clean and he relapsed this weekend. He didn't use his normal drugs or at least I don't think he did, but he was drunk. He had been in a sober house but had only been home two weeks. I think the old environment did it for him.
In any case, I told him he had to leave which was what I've been taught in my programs. He left and went to his girlfriends where he has been the last few nights.

Here is my question - becuase I bought his car and it's still in my name as well, I could use that as leverage to get him back into a sober house, but should I do that or should I let him continue as he is. I want him to get the treatment and think he needs to be back in the sober house, but should I push him there or let him be?

It's so tough to know when to push and when to let him be.
Old 04-16-2012, 09:51 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I think its a mixture of yes and no.

If you want to decide to take the car back because you want to stop enabling him to get around where/when he sees fit, take the car back. But don't do it as a move to force him back into a sober house. He needs to choose it for himself regardless. If I were you and had already decided he couldn't live in the house, I'd totally take the car back, but not in an attempt to force him back to being clean.

What about your recovery? It seems like you are still thinking that YOU can fix him and that your decisions can corner him back into recovery.
Old 04-16-2012, 10:06 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Please don’t play manipulation games with your child or use anything as leverage.