bottom line: i need advice.

Old 09-16-2009, 06:39 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

bottom line: i need advice.

so two nights ago i woke up in a cold sweat after having a nightmare that i walked in on my boyfriend after he OD'd and died. yesterday i was at my parents house visiting and i got a call from my boyfriends mother saying that she walked in on her son getting ready to shoot up in the bathroom. now this is my first time writing on this site, so you should know that my boyfriend has three artificial valves in his heart from a surgery he had last year because of long term drug use. for a month the doctors told his family that they didnt know if he was going to live or die. i started dating my boyfriend in january when he was heroin free. after the phone call i immediately called his older friend whose son was a heroin addict. we went over to their house to find his mother in the driveway crying and his clothes and belongings beside her. after all of us sitting down and talking for hours he got honest with us and broke down. i still dont know how to handle this situation. he doesnt have health insurance anymore. besides building a strong support system for him i dont know what else to do.
Old 09-16-2009, 07:18 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hi My Star,
Welcome to SR. Please read the stickies at the top of the threads. There is some useful information there.

Is your BF willing to get treatment? If so, there are a number of government funded programs that will help him. He can start by contacting the Salvation Army.

First, let me say that this situation is difficult for all involved, however, HE only HE will be able to get himself into treatment. If he is forced or bribed, etc., etc., then he isn't ready to get clean nor is HE ready to make the commitment to stay clean.