Sweet Irony - Who's the crazy one now?

Old 07-25-2007, 11:30 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Sweet Irony - Who's the crazy one now?

Well as I had mentioned yesterday- there has been a COMPLETE role reversal between abf and myself.

He is in a positive place in his recovery- relaxed and optimistic. I, however, am not in this place and have yet to truly surrender control of the situation.
I am wondering if anyone else has ever felt themselves still unhinged after their addict received treatment.

I feel so out of control and nutty sometimes- still reacting as though things are the way they USE to be and he's the one who is cool, calm and collected. It really aggravates me!
Old 07-25-2007, 11:34 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Heather, something I have been reading here since I first came here alost 2 years ago, we are just as sick as they are, just on a different level. Like I said I have been coming to SR for almost 2 years and I am just now starting to see that I am sick and need help, even though I read it every day. I still have yet to surrender and admit that I am powerless. Maybe we just have thick skulls? Who knows? You are not alone. (((Heather)))
Old 07-25-2007, 11:55 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
hbb
Live, Laugh, Love

(((Heather))) I know it's hard and i've followed your unfortunate story as i too have been here with a crappy situation of my own. My counselor asked me today flat out .... "do you want to get better yourself, or stay feeling this way?" It really hit me and YES i do want to get better myself, i cant change what he's doing, thinking, eating, drinking, boozing, who he's seeing. I know it SUX so bad but you know what, what if he gets better and you dont??? For me, i don't want my X back at this point, he has ALOT of major issues that will take years to help but you need to focus on you, and i know i sound like the biggest hypocrite but seeing it through someone elses eyes kind of has woken me up i'm thinking of you and hope your feeling better soon

heather