Guidance about divorce and legal issues needed

Old 07-18-2007, 05:36 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Guidance about divorce and legal issues needed

Finally coming to my senses...after the 16 year old girl bit, despite my husband's attempt at recovery currently, I am done.

But now I feel trapped by the legal issues and what it will mean financially.

My AH barely works now because his mother is supporting him so he could only take music gigs he wanted. So in essence she has been supporting my kids and I for some time. She obviously is somewhat wealthy. My family is not at all. I have no resources. I am a student and she said she wanted to help us so I could finish school as well (I quit and started working so he could pursue his music and not have to work a job back when she didn't help us out, codie?). She even owns the house we live in. She could throw me out tomorrow if she buys into his stuff...she originally said she wouldn't because she wants to do the right thing for the grandkids...But he is manipulative and if he decides he wants to, I think his mom is putty in his hands.

I talked to him today about seeing a mediator and he informed me that he doesn't really make much money so he won't have to pay much child support. Then he said, "Guess you better get a job." And went on a rant about how I am the one seeking legal recourse and it is my fault I am tearing the family up. Part of me thinks he said all of this to try to scare me into not divorcing. But the other part of me thinks he is going to be very difficult and that he truly thinks he can take money from his mom and barely work and therefore not have to pay much child support. A lot of his money is paid in cash and not easily tracked as well.