I am the ENEMY????

Old 09-10-2005, 01:03 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I am the ENEMY????

Ok, well I should have expected this - and I am gonna need all the strength I can get to get through it -

As a newbie I just posted for the 1st time the other night. After putting up for the last time w/ my fiance's drinking binges having him removed from my home w/ an Order of Protection, filing charges for assault, and STICKING with it in court - I am now THE BIGGEST JERK LIVING ACCORDING TO HIS FAMILY!!
(OK, not his mother whom I love dearly and has been through this and is being really supportive).

His father, his brother, his close friends have all written and/or called to berate, hate, and put me down because of MY ACTIONS!!! MY ACTIONS??? Correct me if I am wrong - I didn't think I was the one who drank myself silly, who chose to hit me in front of MY family and friends, nor continue to rage and deny MY actions. HOW DID I BECOME THE ENEMY HERE????

If ANY ONE of my family members had gotten to the place I have without my 'being aware' of the problem - I would have to shoot myself!! What? I could have 'dealt' with the problem differently - by sweeping it under the rug??? Ignoring it?? God save me from this insanity.

I WILL hold strong - but the insults and comments are intolerable. I have over-reacted, done the wrong thing, MY SOUL NEEDS TO BE SAVED???? Just some of the lovely comments following the fall-out of all this. How do I handle this??? It upsets me so much I am shaking as I write this.

How do I handle the fact that the entire base of family and friends my life has revolved around for the last 7 years now think I am the villan here??

Let me know..........
Old 09-10-2005, 01:21 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

GnS, there is a reason they say it's a family disease.
That would be because it affects all members of the family.
And those family members can act as unhealthy as the alcoholic.
I'm guessing you know better than all the BS they're slinging at you right now.