Guidance from those that has been here before

Old 02-02-2023, 01:41 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Guidance from those that has been here before

Hi, first of all I want to start of saying I’m new to this and I am beyond happy I has by luck found a community that gets it. For a very long time I’ve felt alone and isolated. So I wanted to just say: thank you. Thank you for your time to spend countless hours just replaying to strangers like myself.

My situation is similar to a lot of situations I find on here. The pain and agony of loving an alcoholic. We have not been “together” for long. But I guess when it is toxic everything feels way more intense.

At first I didn’t have much problem with his drinking, but it was the constant lying. It got bad when he would not see reality of things but whenever he would drink he would make scenarios where he would make the slightest thing turn into a catastrophic event. Black paint(?) the picture of the situation completely and far away from how the reality was.

He had been sober for a year with the help of his family before he met me. I wasn’t aware there was an alcohol problem so when we met I thought the normal thing would be to grab a drink. I didn’t care much if he did, but I grabbed one myself and later he did the same.

I never knew that was the beginning of a downward spiral once again. A month into the relationship he admits he has had an alcohol problem. He said has. The past. I believe him.

His family automatically started to dislike me thinking I was the one as he stated to drink again. I never knew it was that bad, and our relationship we never drank much together. I didn’t know he would drink plenty once left alone.

Our relationship came to an end after he had painted me quite badly towards his family. This was due to an argument we had where we didn’t agree about money / moving in. I said it was too soon, and we could continue to see each other but not to move in.