So much pain and anger

Old 06-17-2015, 11:22 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Red face So much pain and anger

Hi, Im new to all of this and I have never looked into seeking out others who have gone though living with a person with an addiction. Im the oldest of 9 children. My father passed away when I was 10 and my mother worked alot. So it was up to me to care for the kids, babysitting, feedings and the cleaning. I enjoyed being in charge as a kid. LOL I was a bossy little thing. But we made a very hard time in our life work.

Soon after my father's death my mother remarried but soon figured out that she was miserable and started to drink. I was around 14 by this time. Still taking care of my siblings as best i could, life at home was not ideal. moving from place to place, utilities being shut off, standing in soup lines for a hot meal on most days, and the drinking, fighting, hitting (mostly my mother getting so out of control drunk she would lash out.) Strangely my step father who was an ass in his own right never put his hands on her or verbally abused her. He did now ever verbally abuse us.

They finally divorced after DHS stepped in and took my mother's children when I was 18. She found a way to blame me for that too. I moved out and had very little contact with her but shortly after that I became pregnant and wanted to share this joy and experience with my mother.So as a soon to be mother and newly single I was scared and alone so i went back to live with my mother.

Her drinking had not changed but her anger and lashing out had abated for a time. I as a mother now started to stand up for myself and my siblings, who had come home by this time. I moved out of my mother's home when i was 23 feeling guilty for living my younger siblings in such a mess. But i could not protect them any more plus keep my child from growing up as i did in such a negatively charged home.