ADD and Alcohol Abuse

Old 08-25-2004, 09:22 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

ADD and Alcohol Abuse

Question:

Does anyone know if there is a connection between the diagnosis of ADD and the abuse of alcohol?

Also, can alcoholics have a problem with anemia?
Old 08-25-2004, 10:56 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Ooh... lemme go find Gooch. He will have all the poop on the ADD part.

Any substance abuser can find themselve anemic for various reasons.
Old 08-25-2004, 11:01 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I have read that most alcoholics are hypoglycemic which affects blood sugar levels and leads to erratic behavior. If you believe Dr. Atkins, many pyschiatric patients would benefit from a low-carb lifestyle.

I have sort of kept track of my AH's behavior when he has eaten a lot of bread, pasta, sweets, etc. and I think there may be a correlation between his diet and his behavior.
Old 08-25-2004, 11:53 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Dancing To My Own Beat

I am not a scientist, but I would lay down my life that chemical imbalance plays a large role in alcoholism and chemical dependancy. Problem is that science hasn't found an exact diagnosis or treatment for chemical imbalances. It's a guessing game and some of the "cures" make the patient feel worse than the disease. They are getting closer, and maybe in our lifetime there will be true diagnosis and treatment for this. We can only hope. Magic
Old 08-25-2004, 07:10 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Hi Green eyes.

I cannot say for sure if there is any scientific evidence that proves it beyond a doubt.

All I can do is share my experience with my personal correlation.