Confused

Old 02-23-2015, 01:00 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Confused

Hey,

Im new to all this. This is just my second post. My husband is a recovering alcoholic. He stopped drinking 3 years and 4 months ago.

I have known him for ten years, we have been in a relationship since he began his recovery. I have to say that he has always treated me well and he has never ever been nasty or abusive.

A year into his recovery he had a blip and drank a glass of wine. He recognised this as a big problem, sought help and got back on track. We were happy as could be since then. We got married just before xmas.

5 days ago he drank again. He is now on Antabuse so it made him really sick. He says he does not know why he did it. It was probably due to a few different factors, stress building up, stressful jobs etc. Anyway, the Antabuse stopped him drinking more, and he says the way it made him feel has made sure he won't drink again.

Since then he has started taking campral, sought help from the doctors and I guess doing all the right things. He is a lot better in himself and seems to be doing really well.

Despite all this I feel down. I guess I'm disappointed and don't understand. It's been a wake up call for me and I now realise that this could happen again and I'm worried. I'm worrying about something that hasn't happened yet and may not happen. I can't seem to shake it. I guess I feel like I've always got to be the strong one and shoulder more stress than him as he doesn't deal with it well.

I love him and he is a great husband, I just don't know why I'm feeling like this ......
Old 02-23-2015, 04:46 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Good morning Lily,

Below is a link to a recovering A who looks at the scientific information out there on addiction. I am linking an article specifically on stress. However, he also has good articles on emotional issues too.

stress relief | The Alcoholics Guide to Alcoholism