Silence in my relationship is new...help.

Old 02-19-2015, 10:53 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy Silence in my relationship is new...help.

This is my first time posting, and although I'm a bit nervous, I'm looking for insight. I feel alone and without any perspective.

My relationship with the alcoholic in my life began 2 years ago. He had only been sober for 4 months. I was aware that he'd made a decision to not drink, but he didn't share the severity of the problem (and I didn't push, figured it would come out in time) until over a year into our relationship. I have always been supportive of his attending meetings and not drinking isn't an issue for me.

We've had a wonderful, amazingly close friendship/relationship for 2 solid years. We had excellent communication and always talked through things without blame or fear. Our relationship was long distance and we'd only see one another a couple of times a month for long weekends...sometimes for a week at a time. But this worked for us, we learned to not take one another for granted. We knew eventually we'd be together. Completely secure with one another.

3 weeks ago today, he changed...he shut down, stopped talking, told me he doesn't love me....says he can't understand why he is angry and anxious....told me that I'd done nothing...He even went on to say he wished there was something to pinpoint or blame his feelings on. Since then, I've heard nothing from him. I'm sad, shut out and scared...I attend Al Anon, which helps but this silence is eating me up emotionally and physically...

I do know through friends that he's been out a lot, keeping busy, social events...but no word.

Any idea what's up or help is welcomed...

thanks
Old 02-19-2015, 10:57 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Only he can answer that.

Take care of yourself. Sounds like something is definitely up - prepare yourself.
Old 02-19-2015, 11:24 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

yup - just focus on YOU and taking care of YOU.