Need advice for newcomer

Old 01-20-2015, 10:14 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Wu Wei

Need advice for newcomer

I am new to Al Anon and what I don't get is how do I stay married to someone who continues to use drugs and alcohol on a daily basis. It desperately effects my life with her. I cannot be intimate with her. I cannot deal with her anger etc. Yes I am working on my own recovery of 2 1/2 years but living with a checked-out person makes it very hard. I am 64 and its too late to start over but I dont want to spend the rest of my life with someone who is not really present in our relationship, know what I mean? Am I to live in the same house as some sort of detached beings or some such thing? I need practical help.
Old 01-20-2015, 10:29 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hi there.. I know it's frustrating so big hugs to you!

Since you're new to alanon, maybe give it a little time to apply what you learn and see if a difference is made in how you feel living with your A. Sometimes it's just not possible to live with our A, but this is a decision you'll have to make. Are you or have you made boundaries? How are you doing with them?
Since you're new, please check out the stickies at the top of this forum...they have been such a blessing of information to me and I know they will be for you too.
Old 01-20-2015, 10:41 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Did you ever consider that you are living with an emotionally detached person with anger issues?

I think at 64 you need to have some peace in your life. Perhaps with your wife, perhaps not. What do you see for your future life. Envision that, then go for it.

((((((((((((hugs)))))))))))))
amy
Old 01-20-2015, 11:51 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by EternalNow View Post
I am 64 and its too late to start over
Oh, I could not disagree more! You have many, many more years ahead of you, and it would seem to be a better choice to have them be joyful and serene, wouldn't it?