Don't know which end is up

Old 02-18-2014, 07:49 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Don't know which end is up

Hi. I'm new to all of this - and was hoping for some perspectives from others who have been there as I'm not sure which end is up and how to diagnose the issues that reside with my husband vs myself. I'm hoping some of you might be able to help.

I've been married 4 years. My husband has always been a heavy drinker - I observed this even in our dating days but I guess in hindsight I must have rationalized it as I never saw him drop down drunk. He drinks every day (although can go for days without if he so chooses), he drinks as part of his job (works in finance and there is an entertaining element nearly every weekday), he drinks on vacation all day long (starts on the plane with 2-3 double martinis at 9 am). He is rarely "smashed" but I would describe as drinking is a clear part of the fabric of his life.

Many many challenges have happened during the 4 years of our marriage including the detrimental effects of the economy on his business, a stressful home renovation, etc and over the last 1-2 years I've noticed his coping mechanism is to flee to the bar and to stay there for hours at a time often not coming home until anywhere between 11 pm - 6 am. He stops responding to texts while out and never answers when I ask what his ETA is. Sometimes he sends unprovoked nasty texts but oftentimes he just vanishes. Then the next day he acts like everything is normal.