Go Back  SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information > Friends and Family > Friends and Family of Alcoholics
Reload this Page >

Have you seen an alcoholic seizure? Plse tell me what they look like and what happens

Have you seen an alcoholic seizure? Plse tell me what they look like and what happens

Old 07-10-2013, 12:34 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

What do they look like?
When do they happen?
Can they kill people?

I've googled them and read all I can but I want to hear it from people who have seen them happen.

I thought my father was having an alcoholic seizure, then he had another and another. They were quite short - 8 seconds, 5 seconds, 3 seconds. But then he wasn't breathing and we had to do CPR and he died.
Old 07-10-2013, 05:31 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
A work in progress

Alcoholic seizures usually happen during withdrawal. Unless he had stopped drinking abruptly, I kind of tend to doubt it was that.

I'm not a medical professional, but strokes and aneurism ruptures can happen quite suddenly, and depending on where in the brain they occur, I believe they can cause seizure-type symptoms. Are they doing an autopsy?

How's your family (and you) holding up, Lulu?
Old 07-10-2013, 05:45 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I am very sorry about your father.
Old 07-10-2013, 05:50 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Sober since 10th April 2012

Sorry to hear about your father Lulu; it must have been traumatic for you and whoever else was there. Look after yourself.
Old 07-10-2013, 07:08 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  

I'm so so sorry about your father, Lulu.

I found my exABF after he had a seizure (the ER docs told us that's what it was).