Need a little strength

Old 03-30-2013, 12:29 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Need a little strength

I am really feeling the need to let my sibs know about my AW.

I have been keeping this secret for some 9 years. It has been the "safe" way of dealing with this... But, I cannot (for so many reasons) lie anymore. Ant I wonder, how much do I tell them?

Has anyone struggled with this?
Old 03-30-2013, 01:10 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Community Greeter

Yes, I have had to admit stuff to family that I avoided talking about (for various reasons). I say tell them what you feel comfortable sharing.

dandylion
Old 03-30-2013, 03:15 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

If any of my family were keeping a secret like this then they told me about it, I would go mad at them for not telling me sooner then I would hug them, most likely cry with them, and be there for them 24-7.
Old 03-30-2013, 03:27 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Tell them what you feel comfortable with. From "The Courage to Change", We are only as sick as our secrets! I also told my A that I was not making excuses for him anymore in public. For years I would say "oh, he was just kidding" when he would make an inappropriate comment or cover for him in some way when he made an ass of himself. I finally told him that was ending and I would be truthful and let the injured parties know that he was intoxicated and when he was intoxicated, he was an ass. No more enabling from me!
Old 03-30-2013, 03:28 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

It took me a long time to open up to my sister about my AH. And I didn't say anything to my parents until he went into rehab the first time. I'm not telling them about my husband's return to rehab for many reasons, but mostly because it would be a bigger burden on me to console my mom and to field daily "we just had to make sure you're home and safe and alliiiiiiiive" phone calls (yes, really, that's what happened last time!).