Need help coping with my alcoholic daughter

Old 02-23-2013, 04:42 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Need help coping with my alcoholic daughter

Hello, this is my first time here. Don't know exactly what I am doing, so bare with me. I love my girl with all my heart and have dedicated my life to trying to help her. But i have learned I've only enabled her. So, I am trying very hard to change my way of thinking and my behavior. it is one of the hardest things I have every done. But, this child has turned my life, my husband's life and entire family into a mess. She has used up every one of us to the point we no longer want anything to do with her. We have been disappointed time and time again. After her binge last night and spending the night in the hospital I refused to rescue her and left her there! I feel awful and now do not know where she is or how she is. She is homeless and has no money. I don't know if I did the right thing or not.

We have spent 10's of 1000's of dollars on her for rehab and just cleaning up after her. She has been in and out of rehab's and kicked out of every sober house in town. I just don't know how much further down she can fall. Now she is drinking so much it's like she has to to keep from the DT's. I am worried sick about her safety and welfare. I just don't know what I will do if anything happens to her.

Any words of encouragement or advise will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Jean h
Old 02-23-2013, 04:55 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi and welcome Jean

I'm sorry for your situation, I can only imagine how hard it must be for you and the rest of your family.

Sadly, addicts will not quit until they want to. Most times I think it's more effective looking after your own welfare, and letting them find their bottom, and then their feet.

I know that worked for me and my drinking addiction.

I moved your thread here - I know you'll find support and experience in this forum

D

Last edited by Dee74; 02-23-2013 at 05:25 PM.