all these al anon meetings arent what i expected

Old 10-09-2012, 10:40 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

all these al anon meetings arent what i expected

Hey, so I went to my 2nd al anon meeting and I'm kind of upset. I know they say to go to atleast 6 meetings but I don't even feel like trying anymore. Every al anon meeting I have went to has a lot of older folks and I can't relate to any of them. I am 20 years old and I am kind of bummed because I want to talk about how I am feeling. Maybe its because I went to a 12 noon meeting and only 8 people showed up. But how different could the night meetings be? Another thing is since I'm a beginner its a lot harder to grasp on what people are saying. They talk and relate to the prayers and steps and say how the meetings work for them but it has yet to work for me. I'm not quite sure what to do anymore =/
Old 10-09-2012, 10:44 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Two meetings doesn't sound like enough to formulate a solid perspective. Can you try a different meeting?

Remember that wherever you go, everyone is there for roughly the same reasons. You may feel like an outsider because you are younger, or newer to the process, but you do belong there, and no one there thinks you don't.
Old 10-09-2012, 10:46 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Try different meetings. Really. My meetings have a mix of ages, races, sexual orientations, demographics, and religions. Homeless people and executives. 75-year-olds and 18-year-olds. I think the breakthrough tends to come when you realize that you do have things in common, beyond the differences. And you will feel out of the loop to begin with -- that's OK. Keep trying.
Old 10-09-2012, 10:51 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

I agree, keep trying. I am 42, but still one of the youngest in the rooms but I have come to love these folks and look forward to hearing their wisdom. Many of them have 20 plus years in the program and I learn so much from their shares.