My family is so broken right now.

Old 12-20-2011, 07:11 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hi everyone, I'm new to al anon. My husband has been and opiate addict for the past four years. The last two years have been the worst. He just finished up his 21 day stay in a rehab facility. Before he came home i told him that i wanted him to stay at our condo and our two daughters (6, and 3) here at our house for the first few weeks so we can try and work on healthy communication and bringing our family back together slowly in a healthy manner and not with mom and dad fighting around the kids right away. We own our condo but have been renting the house we are staying in from my family. While my husband was using he started to pawn everything and has stolen from my family and his. Now that he is out my family will not allow him to come back to the rental house. This time apart was only going to be for a few weeks and then our lease here is up and we were going to have to move back into the condo as this house has been sold. My husband has been out of rehab for 24 hours. And decided to have two guys from rehab move into our condo with him ( living in our kids room and sleeping in there beds). Our six year old and i are extremely upset and hurt. The condo is our one place to be as a family and start spending time together in a healthy way. How can we try and build up our family and spend time together with two strangers living in my kids room. My daughter and i have both expressed to him how upset and hurt we are that he is doing this. My husband is 32 and the two others are just 18 and 22. They have a very different life then we do. And im extremely concerned that them all living together isnt a healthy situation. My husband told me on his way home from rehab that he felt one of them was already going to relapse and that the other one is homeless because his family wont let him back home. Its like he is so worried about saving these two kids and not looking at the big picture of our fa