Need some advice

Old 01-07-2008, 05:45 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Need some advice

Hi. I am a newbie here and I would like to introduce myself. I have been reading a lot about what everyone else here is going through. Even though it's unfortunate, it's almost a relief that others can understand what I have been going through. Even though I know others with alcohol problems, no one around me can relate to the severity of my abf's addiction to alcohol. He is a binge drinker- he will drink continuously for months at a time until he either runs out of money or ends up in jail or the hospital. Then he will stay sober for a few months and then start again. A couple months ago, after a 6 week binge, he finally ran out of money and was forced to quit "cold turkey". About 24 hours after quitting, he got up and went into the bathroom and began seizuring. He cracked his head open on the bathtub and I ran into the bathroom to find him surrounded in a puddle of blood. To make a long story short, he ended up in the hospital and swore he would never drink again. I really thought he meant it this time, and he made it 2 1/2 months sober. But when a few of his friends invited him out, I guess he couldnt resist. Now he has been on a binge for a week. I took him to stay with his friends because I figured that if they could help him to start drinking again, then they can be there for him this time. I guess what my question to others that have gone through this is what helps you get up one day and finally decide not drink anymore when you feel so awful? Is there anything that can help him or is a hospital visit really the only way for him to detox?
Old 01-07-2008, 05:56 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome, LadyBug. Detox should be medically supervised. You saw what happened to him in the bathroom that day. But he won't get help until he is ready.