Problems with Forgiveness

Old 12-20-2007, 11:42 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Problems with Forgiveness

Hi everyone:
I was hoping for a little bit of advice on how to forgive.

My husband and I have been fighting about his addiction to alcohol for many years. He was in complete denial about his dependency. Needless to say, every fight would turn around on me and he'd make me out to be a control freak and psycho. We even separated for a few months and seeked counselling.

To make a long story short, we are now back together, and he has been able to admit to himself that he has a real big problem with alcohol. (A 24 a day was becoming the "norm").

Since then, he hasn't touched a drop. I can tell he's making a real effort to make up for all the bad things he did in the past. He has been a dream come true, he cooks, cleans, takes wonderful care of me and our little boy.

Alcohol is no longer an issue... now it's me. No matter how good he is, every time I look in his eyes, all I can remember is the jerk that put booze before me over and over again. The guy that lied, manipulated, and make me out to be a crazed psychopath so that he could stay in denial.

I don't know what to do. Any advice on how to deal with this???
Old 12-20-2007, 11:52 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I think journaling was the thing that helped me most with forgiveness. Once I wrote down all the stuff I was angry and resentful about, it helped. And, not saying this is true for you, but looking back on all of it I realized I was a psycho control freak in many ways. In fact, forgiving him was not nearly as difficult as forgiving myself. I became somone I didn't like over the years. I had to work on getting myself back.

I guess what I'm saying is that relationships always involve more than one person. When I owned up to my part of the dysfunctional relationship, it became much easier to forgive him for his part.

JMO,
L
Old 12-20-2007, 11:56 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

You are probably right LaTeeDa.