Addicted sister

Old 12-20-2015, 03:01 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Addicted sister

Hi there
I'm new to this, I've just found out my sister is using heroin, yesterday she told me. I am heart broken, can't stop worrying, crying....the usual I suppose.
My sister has always had her demons, she also has always drank alcohol and taken drugs all through her teenage years and adult life. She's now 34. She would have alcohol and cocaine, mostly recreational drugs, I suppose in some way I think this was inevitable but somehow I'm absolutely shocked and devastated for her. But now it's crack and heroin. She's been using for 6 weeks and is hooked. Is it early enough do you think for an intervention and to stop this? She said she has only told me because she wants to get help and stop. She is married and has a daughter, she's worried she will get taken away if she goes for help. I've called a drug line and rehab is very expensive. Sorry for my rambling, I just need to know what I should do and how I can help her. We are so close and I feel her pain, so much. This morning I woke up and my husband said I should tell my parents. I know my sister does not want that but I'm torn on what to do for the best. Please any help and advice would be much appreciated at this time.
Old 12-20-2015, 05:32 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

If she has insurance or Medicaid - it should be covered or at least detox. As we often find here - help is a call away for the addict, they usually do not want the help though.

Be cautious of the words and sympathy. Heroin is a special beast that alters the mind. They will lie, manipulate and gas light to get what they need. They play on everyone's sympathy.

Guilt is their ally.

I am so very sorry that you are going thru this.

You can read more info in the stickies on the forum: Friends and Family of Substance Abusers

Check on the stories of others. You are not alone.