Need some support- tempted to reach out

Old 04-22-2019, 10:53 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Need some support- tempted to reach out

I am fairly new to SB and working in recovery myself. I have been reading the forum discussions and Codepent No More.

My AH left for work a week ago and was supposed to return yesterday. He works overseas and out of state; he was supposed to be back for just a few days. The last time we spoke, I was totally detached because he complained about work, again, for 15-20 mins straight. Also, detaching has helped me deal with his drinking.

For the the first time ever, I asked him to pay to pay a share of the rent. We live in one of the most expensive cities in the country. He transferred the money that night. We haven’t spoken since and it’s been days or so. He hasn’t called or texted to let me know whether he was planning to come back or stay out working.

I am worried but I knew this would happen. He doesn’t communicate when he’s upset. I have been so cold to him... In some ways, I’m relieved but also worried about him. I also dropped off his response acknowledging receipt of my divorce petition. He left it at home and told me, “you mail it since it’s what you want.” It took me days...

Someone pointed out in an earlier response at SR that I should be thankful he left without much drama. But I’m worried about him and having trouble letting go.
Old 04-22-2019, 11:13 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

"worried about him" how?
are you worried that something went wrong in his travels?
are you worried he's been abducted and can't contact you?
or are you worried he is not contacting you by choice?
or that he may be upset/mad or simply not caring?

what feelings are you experiencing that you think reaching out to him would fix? try to sit with those for a bit. can he really fix you? has he ever?
Old 04-22-2019, 11:29 AM
  # 3 (permalink)