The toxic MIL (AHB mother)

Old 08-16-2018, 12:36 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

The toxic MIL (AHB mother)

Hi all ,

I am new to this journey and glad I have found this forum as one of the many resources/tools to use for my own codependent recovery.

Quick overview, was in a almost 6 year long relationship with my AHBF and have a child together. During the course of the 6 years I have dealt with emotional abuse, extreme manipulation/guilt, etc. So I am here to learn how to help MYSELF for once.

Anyway, my question here is HOW do you go about dealing with the toxic families of the alcoholic? You know, the ones who started the cycle with your significant other. Toxic, emotionally abusive, manipulative people who one day are nice and next day rip you to shreds?

Well throughout our relationship her son could do NO wrong. Everytime I reached out because he came home drunk, treating me bad, yelling in front of our child, she would always coddle and console him... I was the controlling one ….. 0.o

Fast forward to me leaving the relationship... Not once , ONCE did she reach out and ask how her grandchild (whom she loves so much) was doing and if she needed anything, let alone me. In fact, she stole from me, beraded me, and clung to her sons side and embraced his ****** behavior. All of them did.

Now that he and I are trying to reconcile... he is in rehab right now, she has sort of reached out... kind of... not in the way a normal person would, but in more of a "thank you for helping him" "I am not sure I am very comfortable with the facility he is at" , blah blah victim this victim that …
I am kind hearted by nature despite anything that has ever been done to me and I nthat way I disrespect myself by making sure others feel good even though they don't deserve it.

Tips / Advice / suggestions?

As per the advice of some members from my previous post I just purchased the Codependent No More book this afternoon =)

Thanks all xo