Such a long hard road.

Old 06-05-2018, 08:58 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Such a long hard road.

Hi all, this is my first time posting. I've been with my partner for 12 years, he is a functioning alcoholic. I have thought for a long time that maybe it's my fault the way he is, blaming, name calling etc etc. I realise reading a lot of the posts on here that it isn't.
Things have become so bad lately, well it's never been a normal relationship. Luckily we don't have children together and I have my own house so it's easy to escape when things are bad.
I guess my question is, why do I always feel the need to keep going back to him . I often wonder if we become addicted to them in some way. I adore him but am so worn out that it's always my fault and how he shouts me down if I ever try to talk to him about things. Apologies if this is in the wrong forum.
Old 06-05-2018, 05:50 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hi Mads and welcome to the forum. I am sorry, I know how difficult it is. I think there is an element of being addicted to our A's , I know that I was. I get that you are tired of it, I got tired of it too and did it for far to long. It is good that you have your own place and no children with him. You can end the pain, it will be hard to do but in the end you will most likely feel much better, I am at least 4 years out now and my life is so much better .

. Hope you stick around and get some support. Katie
Old 06-05-2018, 07:52 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Hi mads, glad you found SR and you are certainly in the right place!

Sure, some relationships can be "addictive" but it's hard to say, maybe you are just comfortable? Maybe you have isolated yourself somewhat and friends and family have dropped by the wayside as you focus on putting out the fires?

Thing is, why do you want to be around someone who shouts you down and blames you for everything? That's abuse and certainly dysfunctional.

You mention you adore him, what do you adore about him?