Notices

STOP sticking your head in the LIONS MOUTH !!!...

Old 05-06-2018, 04:19 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

STOP sticking your head in the LIONS MOUTH !!!...

...and get serious about your sobriety and recovery ! This is what I have been telling myself for the last 7 YEARS. I have been a raging alcoholic for the past 20 years and a chronic, repeat, relapser. I stopped counting at 30 something a few years ago. I must be above 50 now. I have known, for the last 7 years that I cant go on this way.

So, my point is this. The stopping and starting, stopping and starting, stopping and starting takes something out of me each time. My "resolve" if you will. My determination, will power, esteem and self confidence are all at a life time low for me.

Years ago, When I would wake up with a "Kicker" of a hangover I would stop my drinking. 2 weeks, a month, or my personal best, 5 months but always returned to the grogg (for me it is beer LOTS of beer EVERYDAY) without fail. When I return to the drinking I lose a little piece of myself... my confidence that I can beat this, my fight, my desire to slay the demon, the "beast".

Fast forward to today. Again, I have come to this point and knowing this just cant go on, I'am declaring yet another Day 1 and taking my head out of the lion's mouth ! Will I stick it back in again?...absolutly not.

Yes, I have my plan in place... several in fact. A nutrition and excercise program for starter but will be a big part of my success this time. When I stopped smoking in 2012 I packed on the weight. I'am just a little over 300 #. I cant carry it any longer. I have things I need to do. I have been sedentary for most of the last 10 years. A lot of muscle has wasted away. Not to mention a lot of myself both mentally and physically.

If this is not bad enough there is one more caveat, I'am 65 years old ! ONLY by the grace of GOD am I still here ! I know this. To Him be the Glory !