Notices

Need some support/advice

Old 01-04-2018, 11:59 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Need some support/advice

I'm new to this and admitting I have a problem is deeply unsettling still. I drank for the last 3 years almost every night. Mostly to numb work stress and make interacting easier in relationships. After about 2 years of this it hit me: I am alcohol-dependent. Never meant to be, never wanted this, but here I am. 34 years old, trying to quit for good. I finally made the choice about 6 months ago, and it's been start/stop. I'll go a week or 2 without and then justify a few shots one night, then one night turns to 4, then hangovers and withdrawls are worse than ever. Funny thing is I don't feel like I ever drank a ton, but I guess the regularity of it got my body hooked. It's my 5th day now without a drink and I still feel terrible. BP is high, brain is foggy, and no one knows my struggle. My family would not be able to handle this. I feel like I just need to wait it out but I don't completely trust myself not to drink after I feel good again. I would appreciate any advice on abstaining, or just any supportive words of encouragement. Thanks.
Old 01-04-2018, 12:16 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome and congrats on your decision to go alcohol free! It seems that you've found out one of the reasons that the stop/start cycle is so difficult. Just keep moving forward - whatever it takes, however long it takes - and you will glad in the end. Exercise and ice cream helped me a bunch when I first gave up alcohol. What are your main reasons for quitting? Keep those in your sights!
Old 01-04-2018, 12:21 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Glad you found us Adam.

Recovery and sobriety are two seperate things, which didn't seem logical to me at first. But the thing is, Recovery is the thing that makes sobriety bearable, and sustainable and one day (further down the line) comfortable, and (eventually) preferable to taking a drink.